Month: July 2009

  • Informal Get-Together

    was a blast!

    Nothing like your school life-long crush (who's married) standing in your circle of conversation calling you a naughty girl in front of your fiance.  Can you say awkward?  Thankfully the beer just kept me laughing.  Blushing purple.  But laughing.  It was funny as hell - and he is going to be a daddy in 3 months so that was very cool to meet his wife as well!

    Here's hoping tonight is also just FUN!

  • What a week!

    This week was the end of quarter end for my properties... and it was the worst quarter end I've had in forever!  Granted - having the worst quarter end a year + ago meant burning the midnight oil (I was going to say literally, but I wasn't burning anything. lol) and needing to rush the package over to the UPS store because we'd long missed the UPS pickup at the office building.  But that was so long ago - my time management just wasn't there and the last of three properties I did, I missed a LOT of stupid crap.  So then when I was fixing the things I missed, I'd find more.  Then I'd fix those and it was time to get things printed and get them out by 4... and it so didn't happen.  It was 4:15 - but the last 45 minutes of getting them done I was so close to crying.  I'd save a journal entry, reprint, 5 seconds later I found something I forgot to change, and repeat.  It was SO crazy!  I had John take us to the BT Bar and I had two TALL bud lights... I was all nice and tipsy.  Had a headache this morning though - that will teach me.

    Co-worker (Chatty) is finally talking to me - perhaps as of yesterday, I seriously can't remember now because it was such a crappy week.  But I'm glad we're back to talking - it was really uncomfortable.  I don't know how quickly we can get back to being fine, but hopefully it's close.

    Honeymoon plans are now set in stone.  We booked with my TA and it was not cheap - but we have insurance, flight & an upgraded room to a "Junior Deluxe Suite".  Chatty said that they actually like the deluxe suite better because the "layout" flows better for them.  I guess sometimes the Junior has the jacuzzi tub at the end of the bed instead of by the vanity area - but the pic I saw of the that layout makes it so the jacuzzi & the bed are facing the ocean view - freaking awesome!  Especially if you're higher up so people can't see in your room. lol 

    It's also a 18+ Couples ONLY resort - WOO HOO!  I'm just so excited.  I can't wait.

    John & I are still arguing quite a bit - but I think I'm pretty stressed still.. my class reunion is this weekend and I can't wait until it's over.  I think I'd be willing to be the treasurer still - but only collecting money & paying bills.  No planning.  No other responsibility other than being a true steward with our reunion monies.

    I am trying to drink more water & become aware of what I'm eating.  Obviously I KNOW what I eat... but I'm not realizing it because I don't want to.  SO, I'm not going to focus on counting calories or points (at this time anyway) I'm just going to write down what I eat, what I drink & what I feel, keeping that little journal with me in my purse.  I'm sure I'll end up sharing some tidbits here now and then.

    Going to call it good for now and hit the bed.

    Have a good weekend everyone!

  • So much for that idea...

    lol  But I really am going to try to update more - I think I need to for me!

    No time to write anything else this morning, but maybe I'll be back! 

  • Blog-A-Day

    Since I have seen so many of my faves with this little goal, I figured I should jump in as well - probably when the rest of you are over a third of the way in. lol.

    This will be a short one because I should get to bed - however I'm irritated and would like to share.

    A co-worker has a timeshare w/Palace hotels in Cancun.  She finally got me the pricing this week and it looked really good - and I was all excited and so we hurried up and booked it so as not to miss any special.  Granted, I was overly excited and jumped the gun - part of the reason was because she was so excited and I did feel like we needed to just book it right away.

    After it was done a guilty consiounse crept up inside me and reminded me about MY travel agent.  The lady I've worked with for as long as I can remember.  The woman I put through about a month's worth of emailing back and forth until I eventually realized I have NO idea what I really want to do for my honeymoon - I should really have given her a shot to beat the prices.

    Fast forward and I've come to appreciate a couple of other things too.  If I book through her I really know I can trust her because I KNOW her.  I can see her face to face if/when I want to.  My family has done business with her forever.  Also, I like the thought that if we get to Cancun and something isn't the way we want it, I can call her and she'll get us wherever we need to be.

    Granted I ended up replying to a message on FB from my co-worker (I had previously mentioned on Friday to her at work that my travel agent seems to be able to find the same deals and maybe I should go with her...) to tell her I would hope she would understand why if within about $200 of the price I would prefer to book with my travel agent - and she wrote back and said "Why did you book the membership week instead of taking the prices and discussing with john & your travel agent?"  So I responded and said that I was too excited that I didn't even think of it until it was done. 

    I understand why she's annoyed - but it's not like she's out of money - and even the time she spent pricing things, her & her husband used the same info and booked their own vacay for later in the year.

    THEN I see her status on FB and it says Co-worker "wonders sometimes."  people asked her about what and she said "people".  This status was set in correlation (according to the time stamps) as her message to me.  Wow.  I'm an inspiration for someone's FB status - and it irritates me.

    I do feel a little better for venting now though.

    Thank you - and good night!